The pros and cons of doing a generic online workout program

The Cheer PT Move Better
3 min readApr 12, 2021

I recently returned from a weekend away. Before I left I committed to trying an online workout program. I did this for a couple reasons. 1-I get bored and needed to switch it up and 2-my client told me she loves her online routine and really wants to continue doing it, even though she is limited by pain. It’s a plan that changes workouts daily, and she couldn’t fully explain what she was doing, so it was hard to give her recommendations for modifications. Thus, I jumped on the bandwagon and am giving it a go.

There are definite pros and cons to working out guided by a generic online program. I understand the draw. The instructors are ripped and beautiful. You can workout in your own home. You can workout on your own. And of course there is the promise of results. After doing my first week of workouts, I had an epiphany of my own pro’s and cons.

Pros

  • Most workouts are 30–45 minutes and easy to follow
  • There is a lot of variety so the boredom factor goes away
  • They will target all body parts
  • There’s a blend of strength, mobility and cardio
  • You’ll break a sweat and feel the burn
  • The instructors give a lot of inspirational quotes and encourage you to keep going when you might otherwise want to quit

Cons

  • The routines are generic. Although they usually demo a modification, the modifications are generic and sometimes aren’t enough of a needed change
  • All of the workouts I’ve done have been time based. While they do use weights, and encourage a variety of weights, 60 seconds of an exercise being used for a strength class is not the same as 6–10 reps of the same exercise that I would recommend for a strength workout
  • On the heavy weight conversation, the instructor actually teased a guy in the group for using ‘girl’ weights. This one actually pissed me off. What is a girl weight? I have lifted 2 times my ideal body weight before. Is that a girl weight? Cuz for 60 seconds that would be pretty badass for a girl..or a guy.
  • I’m doing a lot of crunches which I haven’t done in years because I don’t consider them a truly functional exercise and because situps and crunches can place a lot of stress on the lumbar spine, and can possibly contribute to injury. Luckily, I know to avoid the repetative flexion forces and work only in a range that maintains a stiff spine. Check out this article for more from Dr. Stuart McGill, who is a professor of Spine Biomechanics https://uwaterloo.ca/health/hes-got-our-backs
If you squat like this, you may experience knee pain with generic group exercises.
  • They do sumo squats, lunges and split squats for days! For someone with limited toe range of motion, or knee pain, this can be challenging. The only modifications I have seen for these is to do them with less range of motion or weight. (My recommendations might be a box squat (sit to stand) to train form; a rear foot elevated split squat-which is harder, but takes the back toe out of the scenario; or even just holding in a half-kneeling position with hips level.)
1/2 kneel: down knee directly under hip, up knee directly in line with ankle. Keep hips level.

Overall, I’m enjoying this break from my usual routine. By changing up what I do on a regular basis, I’m challenging my body differently. This promotes change. I’m getting my heart rate elevated more than my usual strength routines. The workouts are shorter than my usual routines, and it’s saving me a bit of time..while also allowing me more time to add a walk or run in my day. I also have been able to experience what workouts my clients are doing and am better equipped to make recommendations.

I won’t do these workouts forever, and I will continue to modify for my own body needs, but it’s been a good change for the time being. :)

--

--

The Cheer PT Move Better

As a physical therapist, strength coach and former cheerleader I love helping those in the cheer world navigate life: from cheerleading and beyond